Marshall County, Indiana

The homepage for the government of Marshall County, Indiana

Planning Department


The Planning Department works to guide the growth and development of the County in accordance with the Marshall County Comprehensive Plan and for the following purposes.

1.  To secure adequate light, air, and convenience of access; and safety from fire, flood and other dangers.

2.  To promote the public health, safety, comfort, convenience, morals and general welfare.

3.  To plan for the future development of the County to the end.


Current Planning involves administering the Marshall County Zoning Ordinance, Subdivision Ordinance and related regulations.  This includes processing applications for Improvement Location Permits, subdivisions, variances and other land use applications.  Staff also assists the public with questions related to the zoning code such as zoning classifications, permitted land uses and development standards.


The Marshall County Comprehensive Plan is a document which guides the County's growth and it is used frequently.  The Marshall County Planning Department is responsible for development of the Comprehensive Plan as well as other long-term planning projects and studies.


Planning staff is responsible for a variety of technical services including address management, data collection, and zoning verification.

The following jurisdictions (incorporated and unincorporated areas) are served by separate Plan Commissions:

City of Plymouth

Town of Argos

Town of Bourbon

Town of Bremen

Town of Culver

Contact Us

Ty Adley, AICP,
Plan Director
Marshall County Building
112 W Jefferson St
ROOM 302
Plymouth, IN 46563
Get Directions
  • Phone: (574) 935-8540
  • Fax: (574) 935-8534
  • Staff Directory
  • M - F 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

In this Department

Topics of Interest

More Information